We don't support this version of your browser

You are seeing this message because we detected that this browser is out of date
and does not support the features that make The ReviewA secure and easy to use.

Please update this browser to the latest version or install one of the browsers we recommend below.
If you believe your browser is up to date, please contact us (Please send your browser version.)

We recommend these browsers:
Chrome Browser Chrome Browser

AFRICAN ROCK HOTEL

7 Reviews
Hospitality
AFRICAN ROCK HOTEL

About AFRICAN ROCK HOTEL

This exclusive boutique hotel is located 11 km from the Johannesburg International Airport, O.R. Tambo in a quiet suburb of Kempton Park away from the flight path of arriving and departing planes. It has quick and easy high way access to Johannesburg, the Sandton area as well as Pretoria. A well-established lush tropical garden, a swimming pool and large patio ensures relaxing outdoor living.


Amenities
Free Wifi
What people love here
Overall experience
Staff
Rooms
Food & Beverage
Likely to recommend us to others
Customer reviews

External Review

Published 25 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - Liz P - 11 Jan 2019 - - - Can't recommend this place highly enough. - - - A very luxurious boutique hotel. We stayed here prior to our flight home and spent a lovely day in the garden by the pool. Transfer to the airport was provided free of charge. (https://tinyurl.com/yaz4aobk)

Show more...

Stewart Taylor

Published 24 Jan 2019

Show more...

External Review

Published 24 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - Heather A - 24 Aug 2018 - - - Wonderful, relaxing stay - - - We had a one night stay in Johannesburg due to timing of flights for safari. African Rock Hotel was the perfect place to stay and we loved our time there. The hotel was very cozy. It was such a wonderful, relaxing dinner and stay. (https://tinyurl.com/y9m7rvmb)

Show more...

External Review

Published 24 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - Kathy G - 29 Aug 2018 - - - Exceptional place to stay - - - We LOVED our stay here at the African Rock Hotel. It has beautiful grounds and a wonderful gift shop. Absolutely loved our stay here. (https://tinyurl.com/ydcjakad)

Show more...

External Review

Published 24 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - EMcCdn - 26 Nov 2018 - - - Comfortable hotel - - - We enjoyed our stay at the African Rock Hotel. It was a little cool when we visited so we were unable to use the outdoor space or the pool. (https://tinyurl.com/ya28goy4)

Show more...

External Review

Published 24 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - ThePajamahadeen - 2 Dec 2018 - - - This is a GEM of a hotel hidden in Johannesburg!! - - - We were picked up at the airport by the hotel driver and driven to the hotel directly. We were give a brief tour of the hotel and our bags were brought in by the staff. The hotel has a capacity of 18 people - very intimate indeed. The dining area is small yet well-appointed. There is a very tiny gift shop on the first floor that caters mainly to women - however, we did find some small somethings to bring home. The give shop manager, Regina, is a mother to a teenager and a wife to a police detective. We liked her a lot and I respect what her husband does - it's a tough job! In summary, there was a LOT to like in this small but intimate hotel. Not only would we recommend this hotel to others but we would also stay here every chance we came back to Johannesburg. My biggest fear is that people will read this review, stay there and fall in love with it as we did, and we will never be able to get a room there again because they will always be sold out!! Yes, folks, IT'S THAT GOOD!! There is nothing to dislike about this hotel. It is almost like a bed & breakfast but with much better service. (https://tinyurl.com/yc3oz89n)

Show more...

External Review

Published 24 Jan 2019
TRIPADVISOR - JenHoppo - 14 Dec 2018 - - - Wonderful place to stay! - - - Everything you need and could want is here. Day spa and gardens. They will even pick you up from the airport for a short stay if you're waiting for your connecting ongoing flight and want to freshen up and relax. (https://tinyurl.com/y8y87d3p)

Show more...